Attention: No Classes Today

What HRS Is Reading: May 2019 Titles

HRS Librarian John Goddard shares his book recommendations for May! These titles will be available during the Elliott Bay Book Fair next week, May 15-17. Happy reading!

The Hamlin Robinson School Library hosts our annual Elliott Bay Book Fair during ArtsFest on Thursday, May 16th, which is a great time to stock up on great books for summer reading. Come support the HRS library, support a great local bookstore, and stock up on great summer reads to inspire curiosity, build knowledge, and provide entertainment. Below I’ve provided some books that I’m particularly excited about this year.

2018-2019, EBBC Book Fair Hours

  • Wednesday, May 15th - 3:10-4:10
  • Thursday, May 16th - 3:10 - 4:10, 6:00-8:00
  • Friday, May 17th - 3:10-4:10

Lower School (Levels 1-3)

New Shoes by Sara Varon
Sara Varon has made many great graphic novels loved by our youngest readers at HRS--Odd Duck, Sweaterweather, and Robot Dreams. Her accessible style and themes of friendship and creativity draw in many readers. Her newest book, New Shoes, is about Francis, a shoemaking Donkey, and his quest to create the perfect pair.

Get the Giggles: A First Joke Book by Bronwen Davies
There will be plenty of early readers at the Book Fair that can help students, who are still working on the basics. This joke book will encourage kids to do something with the words they read...make others laugh.

Intermediate (Levels 4-5)
Shouting at the Rain by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
The author of the groundbreaking, Fish in a Tree, is back with another sensitive, empathetic novel about Delsie, a year-round Cape Cod resident, and her “Off-Cape” friend, Brandy. This coming-of-age novel is perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo and Katherine Applegate.


Thirteen Ways of Looking a a Black Boy by Tony Medina
This book is a collaboration between author, Tony Medina, and some of the best illustrators and artists working in children’s literature today. Medina provides the poems that celebrate the differing experiences and perspectives of black boys, while the artists bring the poems to life through art. This one is for all ages.


STEM Lab by Jack Challoner
Activity and project books are a great way to keep kids learning through the summer. The simple steps with accompanying photography in this book will help your student make a ball levitate, learn about geodesic design, or create a spectroscope.


Middle School (Levels 6-8)

MacBeth #KillingIt, YOLO Juliet, A Midsummer’s Night #Nofilter by William Shakespeare, Courtney Carbone, & Brett Wright
We had a few copies of these books at an EBBC Book Fair a few years ago, and I absolutely loved their irreverent re-interpretations of Shakespeare classics. Yes, they are written as text conversations.

The Assassination of Brangwain Spurge by M.T. Anderson & Eugene Yelchin
I’ve been obsessed with M.T. Anderson’s writing since I read Feed. He’s back with a middle grade book for students who love world building Fantasy. It’s full of cross-species (Goblin/Elf) spying, smart humor, and a surprising amount of contemporary political relevance.

Parent/Faculty Recommendations:

The Night Diary by Veera Hiranandani
A historical fiction novel told in letters, The Night Diary follows Nisha, a girl living during the partition of Pakistan and India. This one tells vital history that few curricula cover and is suitable for mature intermediate students to adults. This would be a great family read aloud to spark discussion.